Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit

Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit

Catriona McPherson / Aug 25, 2019

Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson set in s Scotland For fans of PG Wodehouse Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie Scotland Aristocratic private investigator Dandy Gil

  • Title: Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit
  • Author: Catriona McPherson
  • ISBN: 9781473633414
  • Page: 159
  • Format: Hardcover
  • A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.Scotland, 1932 Aristocratic private investigator Dandy Gilver strikes again with her witty sidekick Alec Osbourne to solve sinister goings on at a convent on a bleak Lanarkshire moor The convent was set alight following a mass breA delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.Scotland, 1932 Aristocratic private investigator Dandy Gilver strikes again with her witty sidekick Alec Osbourne to solve sinister goings on at a convent on a bleak Lanarkshire moor The convent was set alight following a mass breakout at a neighbouring psychiatric hospital on Christmas Eve, resulting in the death of the mother superior Most patients were returned safely but a few are still at large As Dandy interviews each nun in turn she senses a stranger is still lurking in the corridors at night could they be the same person who left blood red footprints in the sacristy One of Catriona McPherson s creepiest and funniest mysteries yet.

    Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit Catriona Oh, no, this is the last Dandy Gilver so far That is the biggest problem with the book Nuns orphans people not being at all what they appear to be. DANDY GILVER AND THE PROPER TREATMENT Paperback DANDY GILVER AND THE PROPER TREATMENT CATRIONA MCPHERSON on FREE shipping on qualifying offers One of The Boston Globe s Best Mysteries of Agatha Christie lives You ll love this book John Lescroart Welcome to Edinburgh Catriona McPherson Catriona McPherson Donna Weaver has put everything into The Breakers Now it waits for the first guests to arrive But as they roll up these couples and cousins, all in their forties CrimeSquad Previous Events Jrn Lier Horst Why Do We Read Crime Fact or Fiction by Saul David The Dark Ladies of Crime by Christopher Fowler James Jackson Treason Killer Women Killer Weekend Britische Autoren Grobritannien Irland bei hamleyhall Autoren aus England, Irland, Schottland und Wales Kurzbiographie, Werke mit Inhalt , Verfilmungen etc. Agatha Award Awards Winners and, where known, nominated titles for each year Best First Novel Kellye Garrett, Hollywood Homicide Micki Browning, Adrift V.M Burns, The City of Lies by Victoria Thompson, Paperback Barnes Noble Reading Group Guide Readers Guide for CITY OF LIES Discussion Questions Throughout the course of the novel, Elizabeth learns a great deal about herself and who she really is.

    • Free Read [Christian Book] ☆ Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit - by Catriona McPherson ✓
      159 Catriona McPherson
    • thumbnail Title: Free Read [Christian Book] ☆ Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit - by Catriona McPherson ✓
      Posted by:Catriona McPherson
      Published :2018-010-12T07:59:34+00:00

    About "Catriona McPherson"

      • Catriona McPherson

        aka Catriona McCloudCatriona McPherson was born in South Queensferry After finishing school, she worked in a bank for a short time, before going to university She studied for an MA in English Language and Linguistics at Edinburgh University, and then gained a job in the local studies department at Edinburgh City Libraries She left this post after a couple of years, and went back to university to study for a PhD in semantics During her final year she applied for an academic job, but left to begin a writing career.These days, McPherson lives with her husband on a farm in the Galloway countryside, where she spends her time writing, gardening, swimming and running.


    885 Comments

    1. Audience: Those who would enjoy a complex murder mystery set in 1930's Scotland. Summed up in one word: ChallengingAuthor Bio: Born in Scotland in 1965. PhD in Linguistics from Edinburgh University. Author of the successful Dandy Gilver series (11 instalments). Full time writer who divides her time between Southern Scotland and Northern California.First Impression: I had never heard of Catriona McPherson despite her significant presence in the crime/mystery scene in the U.K. So I entering her Da [...]



    2. I loved this novel.Set in a convent in 1933, Catriona McPherson's delightful tale has a bit of everything. Mystery, murder and even a bit of fun.Dandy Gilver is a fabulous character. a cross between Nancy Drew and the Australian crime cracker Miss Fisher. She is both relentless and brilliant.After receiving a letter from 'Mary', Dandy is asked to sort the 'mischief' that has befallen the Order of the Little Sisters of St Ultan. She sets about to discover the prowlings along with her sidekick Ale [...]


    3. I didn't enjoy this one as much as her previous books but I will still read the next one in the series - if there is one.


    4. I like anything with a church, convent, monastery background and have had this book for ages. I cannot understand why I never came to it sooner as I enjoyed the story very much. I think it was the name Dandy Gilver which put me off!A 1930s setting so it is a slower paced mystery murder detective series. There is a a bit of women not being able to told about stuff which can get irritating to someone in the 21st century but other than that once you get into the swing of the book it was most enjoya [...]


    5. This book was difficult to rate, because it was off to a slow but interesting start, then kept the slow, methodical pacing most of the way through. I almost set it aside and not bothered to come back, as the story plot was basically Dandy interviews nun, consults with Alec, repeat, for dozens of nuns. I was hoping for more of a split, or at least insight into the workings of, the mental hospital, but the story and 'action', such as it were, focused almost exclusively on the convent and its inhab [...]


    6. On some level, I question why I read this series. Many times I spend the length of book trying to figure out what the fuck the author is hinting at because she's such a genteel writer at times, I can't tell what's happened, or what she's trying to say without saying. Then there's the Scots culture on top, that I also don't understand, along with life in the 1930s. So there's a lot of barriers to entry for me. But for some reason I enjoy the hell out of this series and jump through international [...]


    7. A suspicious fire in a convent leaves a nun dead.Prime suspect is an escapee from the local Psych Hospital. Dandys called in to help.A great dynamic duo,the relationship between Gilver and Osbourne works well. Its light and Funny. I did feel some of the interviewing went on a little but all in all a fun book.


    8. So many nuns, so much confusion! Keeping the characters straight was the key problem with this book. The author seemed well aware of this potential difficulty, as she had Dandy and Alec lament the proliferation of nuns as the book progressed. That said, it was a very enjoyable bedtime read. It was my first Dandy Gilver book, but won't be my last.


    9. Most enjoyable. I always enjoy the relationships in the Dandy Gilver books. The really solid friendship between Dandy and Alec is very refreshing. And Dandy's marriage, which couldn't be described as happy, but isn't filled with horrible misery either. It's all very down-to-earth and pleasing.I was also pretty impressed that I didn't get too confused with all the nuns floating about, not to mention nurses and random extras too! A bit of skilled storytelling there, I think. The book is well plott [...]


    10. This is the fourth book I have read in this series and I do like the character of Dandy Gilver. Dandy is a female private detective in Scotland and this mystery which takes place in 1933 is set in a convent in South Lanarkshire. The author has a charming style and I stayed up late to finish this. The plot and characters are outlandish and I am not quite sure that the solution to the mystery quite worked but this is an enjoyable read.


    11. This was my first Dandy Gilver book and I would have loved to learn something more about her character. Although it is not necessary to have read the previous books, I sometimes wondered about why Dandy was thinking or doing something because I didn't know the character before. I loved the title!The book is very well written with a sharp eye for atmosphere but all in all I found it sometimes difficult to keep track of the story because there are so many characters in the book and the story seems [...]


    12. Never having read any of the ten previous Dandy Gilver and Alex Osborne books, I felt a bit like an interloper at an exclusive club, with no concept of the relationship or skills set of the two investigators. Even with the cast list at the start of the book, I found it difficult to remember the names, roles, personalities and relative seniority of the 20 or so nuns in the book, which made the plot difficult to follow and the characters difficult to care for. Probably only for devoted fans of the [...]


    13. I think this may have been my favorite. Not quite as dark and brooding as some of the earlier books and likeable characters, though suspects all. Maybe I'm getting comfortable with the pattern, but I was pretty sure I had at least the skeleton solution way before Dandy and Alec did but that did not make the conclusion the least bit disappointing. Can't rave about this series enough. Just love everything about it.


    14. The best in the series.A clever mystery for Alec and Dandy set in a convent and an asylum.What I like is the humour and the wry asides of Dandy.Her platonic relationship with Alec enhances the story.The setting in the convent is clever and the description of the nuns brings each sister to life.The horrors of WW1 have for some not gone away.These men in 1933 are still traumatised by the trenches.In conclusion a brilliant well written crime novel.


    15. Another complicated investigation for Dandy and Alec, with an entire convent of suspects, orphans and a few escaped lunatics thrown in for good measure. 'How' was fairly obvious, 'who' and 'why' a little more subtle, but the clues were all there. Dandy's gormless hubby Hugh even made a contribution, which I think has only happened once before . . .


    16. I received a free copy of this book through a ' giveaway. I quite enjoyed the first half of the book, Dandy is an engaging narrator and the setting was interesting, it all fell apart at the end though.


    17. It took me a while to like this book, the first part was really slow. But then Alec tells a story from his childhood about a badger and made me laugh out loud. From there on the story gained speed!Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for a copy of this book.


    18. I must admit that I'm not familiar with this book series, but I found that it took so much time to get up the pace and actually start going anywhere that I had completely lost interest in it.


    Leave a Reply