Mitigating Circumstances

Mitigating Circumstances

Dawn Corrigan / Aug 25, 2019

Mitigating Circumstances Gail LaRue returned to her hometown of Gulf Breeze Florida after college with an urban planning degree and dreams of designing utopian communities Instead as the junior member of the Community Deve

  • Title: Mitigating Circumstances
  • Author: Dawn Corrigan
  • ISBN: 9781432827793
  • Page: 427
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Gail LaRue returned to her hometown of Gulf Breeze, Florida, after college with an urban planning degree and dreams of designing utopian communities Instead, as the junior member of the Community Development team, she finds herself battling residents about their weedy yards But when a prominent local environmentalist is kidnapped by a zealot, Gail and her friend Emily fiGail LaRue returned to her hometown of Gulf Breeze, Florida, after college with an urban planning degree and dreams of designing utopian communities Instead, as the junior member of the Community Development team, she finds herself battling residents about their weedy yards But when a prominent local environmentalist is kidnapped by a zealot, Gail and her friend Emily find themselves digging into the mitigation bank industry In the process they uncover a land swap conspiracy that involves the Park Service and the nearby Air Force base, incurring the wrath of the local Good Old Boy network as they go Set in the heart of the Redneck Riviera during the spring of 2009, MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES is a fast paced, character driven, and fun environmental thriller.For fans of Michael Crichton, Janet Evanovich, John Grisham, and Carl Hiaasen.

    Mitigating circumstances legal definition of mitigating Mitigating Circumstances Circumstances that may be considered by a court in determining culpability of a defendant or the extent of damages to be awarded to a plaintiff Mitigating circumstances do not justify or excuse an offense but may reduce the severity of a charge Similarly, a recognition of mitigating circumstances to reduce Mitigating Circumstances Definition, Examples, Cases Mitigating Circumstances Mitigating circumstances are facts that do not excuse a person for civil or criminal misconduct, but which may show that he had some valid reasons for his actions Mitigating circumstances are often used in court proceedings when the judge or jury determines a defendant s sentence for a crime, or damages in a civil lawsuit. Mitigating circumstance definition of mitigating mitigating circumstance law a circumstance that does not exonerate a person but which reduces the penalty associated with the offense consideration, circumstance, condition information that should be kept in mind when making a decision another consideration is the time it would take. Mitigating circumstances Define Mitigating circumstances Mitigating circumstances definition at Dictionary, a free online dictionary with pronunciation, synonyms and translation Look it up now Mitigating Circumstances Wex Legal Dictionary Definition Factors that lessen the severity or culpability of a criminal act, including, but not limited to, defendant s age or extreme mental or emotional disturbance at the time the crime was committed, mental retardation, and lack of a prior criminal record Recognition of particular mitigating Mitigating Circumstances Nancy Taylor Rosenberg Mitigating Circumstances Nancy Taylor Rosenberg on FREE shipping on qualifying offers This dead on convincing thriller about a woman law enforcer s fevered pursuit of a criminal abounds with the authenticity bNancy Taylor Rosenberg b brings to it. What are Mitigating Circumstances with pictures Feb , Mitigating circumstances are factors that partially explain or excuse behavior They are often referred to in the legal context as factors that make a crime understandable These circumstances are not an absolute excuse and do not mean that no Mitigating Circumstances in Sentencing Nolo Common Mitigating Circumstances The defendant didn t hurt anyone and committed the crime in a manner unlikely to cause harm The no harm circumstance would be relevant if Hank carjacked a driver by sternly ordering her out of her car, but carefully and gently helped her out of it Lack of record. Mitigating Circumstances Student handbook lboro Mitigating Circumstances The University recognises that you may miss part or all of an assessment, or fail to meet your full potential in an assessment due to circumstances beyond your control In such cases, students may submit a claim for mitigating circumstances in accordance with Regulation XVII.

    • É Mitigating Circumstances || ↠ PDF Read by ☆ Dawn Corrigan
      427 Dawn Corrigan
    • thumbnail Title: É Mitigating Circumstances || ↠ PDF Read by ☆ Dawn Corrigan
      Posted by:Dawn Corrigan
      Published :2018-010-16T20:39:35+00:00

    About "Dawn Corrigan"

      • Dawn Corrigan

        Dawn Corrigan was born in New York City and grew up in South Jersey She studied writing at Sarah Lawrence College, the University of Florida, and the University of Utah Her debut novel, Mitigating Circumstances, an environmental mystery set in Gulf Breeze, Florida, started shipping in December 2013 Her poetry and prose have appeared in many print and online journals, and she s served as an editor at Girls with Insurance and Western Humanities Review She works for the City of Pensacola Housing Division and lives in the Myrtle Grove neighborhood of Pensacola.


    165 Comments

    1. I just finished reading an advance copy of Mitigating Circumstances and was pleasantly surprised. The protagonist, Gail LaRue is a junior city planner slash code enforcement officer, who along with co-worker and sidekick Emily Wright find themselves investigating mitigation banks after a local environmentalist is kidnapped. The author depicted life along Florida’s gulf coast to a T and the characters were well developed. Pat Hubbrd’s review of “aging hippie conservationists, a deranged but [...]


    2. I was fortuante enough to obtain an advance copy of this book im exchange for a review.This book is definitely a fun easy read with enough detail and intrigue to keep it interesting! The surreal but real references to the wackadoo world of small town culture, government and politics in the Sunshine State are rich and salty. We get to know Florida's panhandle aka 'Redneck Riviera'. Ms. Corrigan's characters feel familiar and foreign at the same time and include the bright, funny and lovely ian Ci [...]


    3. Welcome to the Salt Life! Wry and good-humored, this environmental mystery/thriller unwinds like a drive down the beach on a summer day. Although certainly endowed with a fast-paced plot, the novel evokes the leisurely mood of its "Redneck Riviera," Florida Panhandle setting. Heroine Gail LaRue convincingly intersperses Wonder-Woman-esque badassery with a finely observed savoring of the local landscape and lifestyle. Dedicated genre fans will doubtless appreciate the action and suspense, but the [...]


    4. Dawn Corrigan’s Mitigating Circumstances is a smart and suspenseful thriller. The story is driven by characters that include environmentalists, capitalists, and criminals. In her insistent way, Gail La Rue may stand aside these categorizations… or possess qualities of each of them.The story offers compelling insight into issues of land use, loggerheads, mitigation banks, and “Salt Life” on the Gulf Coast, or Redneck Riviera.Corrigan’s narrative is driven by engaging dialogue; her plot [...]


    5. This book was written by a friend of mine, so I was pre-disposed to like it. That being said, I really DID like it. Fluid writing style that sucks you in easily, great characters that I can see inhabiting an entire series of books, and a mystery that eases you into some environmental issues that may or may not be up your alley otherwise.I enjoyed the regional feel of the book. It feels like people who know the Florida panhandle area would nod their heads in agreement with a lot of the narrative. [...]


    6. I received this book as part of a First Reads giveaway.The writing was very descriptive, and the characterization immensely enjoyable. A lot of pages were filled with city planning details, less actually contained the mystery and thrill. It was a quick read, and brought up several environmental concerns that were interesting. I would recommend it to friends that were interested in those topics, but overall found it lacked the 'zing' to make it a suspenseful book. Several plot lines got lost by t [...]


    7. I received a copy of this book for free through First Reads.I thoroughly enjoyed reading "Mitigating Circumstances" by Dawn Corrigan. It's pure entertainment.The writing grabs you from the first page, flows smoothly, and was a pleasure to read.The story is interesting, as well as entertaining, and is told with a good, healthy "dollop" of humour. I didn't feel like a single word was superfluous, but neither did I feel like 233 pages was too short (and usually, I do!).I'm looking forward to readi [...]


    8. I don't read a lot nowadays. I do listen to a fair share of audiobooks, but I've really got to be interested in it for a hard copy book to take up my precious knitting time. I started reading Mitigating Circumstances on a Friday evening, read through the weekend, and took breaks only for food and sleep. I related so well to the protagonist that I just couldn't wait to find out what she was up to next. Great book! Set aside a day or two and read it!


    9. This book is a delightful mystery set in the 'Redneck Riviera' of Florida's panhandle, light yet engaging and informative. Gail LaRue, the heroine, is ready for anything that comes her way no matter how off the wall. If you like Janet Evanovich's books you'll love Dawn Corrigan's debut novel. I highly recommend you give it a read.


    10. Bored with their jobs in community development, Gail and her friend Emily jump at the opportunity to play amateur detectives. Author Dawn Corrigan perfectly captures the flavor of life in the Florida Panhandle, a place where Southern ways and the Salt Life breed fascinating characters. A fast-paced read packing a political message that is delivered with humor and plenty of local color.


    11. Great twists and turns. Bet you can't guess the ending. The heroine, Gale LaRue is an intriguing personality with conflicting qualities that can truly surprise the reader. This mystery also has important insights into the eco-economy. Really think you might enjoy this one.


    12. I know a lot more about mitigation banks in the US, but should I. Whilst the narrative was engaging and descriptive, I found a lot of the context setting unnecessary and the plot climaxed far too early IMO (ha.). The story recovered towards the end, but overall the book could have been better.


    Leave a Reply